# **Language and Language Teaching**

#### Editors

Rama Kant Agnihotri, Vidya Bhawan Society, Udaipur, India (Formerly at the University of Delhi) A. L. Khanna, ELT Consultant, Delhi, India (Formerly at the University of Delhi)

### **Editorial Committee**

Suranjana Barua, Tezpur University, Assam, India Haobam Basantarani, Language Consultant, Delhi, India Rajni Dwivedi, Vidya Bhawan Society, Udaipur, Rajasthan, India Praveen Singh, University of Delhi, Delhi, India Rajesh Kumar, IIT, Patna, Bihar, India Devaki Lakshminarayan, Azim Premji University, Bengaluru, Karnataka, India

### **Executive Committee**

H.K. Dewan, Vidya Bhawan Society, Udaipur, Rajasthan, India S. Giridhar, Azim Premji University, Bengaluru, Karnataka, India Partha Sarathi Misra, Azim Premji University, Bengaluru, Karnataka, India

## **International Review and Advisory Board**

R. Amritavalli, English and Foreign Languages University, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

Rakesh Bhatt, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champagne, Illinois, USA

Tanmoy Bhattacharya, University of Delhi, Delhi, India

Jim Cummins, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Ganesh Devy, Dhirubhai Ambani Institute of Information and Communication Technology, Gandhinagar, Gujarat, India

Kathleen Heugh, University of South Australia, Australia

Ayesha Kidwai, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi, India

Stephen D. Krashen, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, California, USA

Kay McCormick, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa

Rajend Mesthrie, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa

K. P. Mohanan, IISER, Pune, Maharashtra, India

Ajit Mohanty, formerly at the Zakir Hussain Centre for Educational Studies, JNU, Delhi, India

Aditi Mukherjee, National Translation Mission, CIIL, Mysore, Karnataka, India

Minati Panda, Zakir Hussain Centre for Educational Studies, JNU, Delhi, India

D.P. Pattanayak, Founder Director, CIIL, Mysore, Karnataka, India

Robert Phillipson, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

N.S. Prabhu, Former Head of English Language, National University of Singapore, Singapore.

Tariq Rahman, Quaid-i-Azam University, Islamabad, Pakistan

Anju Sahgal Gupta, Indira Gandhi National Open University, Delhi, India

Itesh Sachdev, School of Oriental & African Studies, University of London, UK

Rajesh Sachdeva, Former Director, CIIL, Mysore, Karnataka, India

Sadhna Saxena, University of Delhi, Delhi, India

Udaya Narayana Singh, Tagore Research Chair, Visva Bharati, Santiniketan, West Bengal, India

M.L. Tickoo, formerly at the English and Foreign Languages University, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

Mahendra K. Verma, University of York, York, UK

Copy editor: Preeti Jhangiani; Cover: Aseem Ralhan; Layout: Rajesh Sen

Thanks are due to Preeti Misra and Namrita Batra for their help in finalizing this issue.

© 2012 Vidya Bhawan Society, Udaipur (Raj.) The views expressed in the articles in *LLT* are those of the authors only.